Steering Committee

The Steering Committee consists of faculty from the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences (HumSci), students from the graduate programs in History and Medical Anthropology and the medical school. All students, faculty, and healthcare professionals affiliated with UCSF are welcome to join.

If you are interested in joining a Working Group, please fill out this form to indicate your interest and we will be in touch shortly.

Current Steering Committee Members

  • Aimee Medeiros, PhD, Assistant Professor, History of Health Sciences
  • Antoine Johnson, PhD Candidate, History of Health Sciences
  • Bonnie Wong, MSc, MD/PhD Candidate, Medical Anthropology
  • Jaleel Plummer, PhD Student, Medical Anthropology
  • Jay Zussman, MD/PhD Student, Medical Scientist Training Program
  • Liz Dzeng, MD, MPH, PhD, Assistant Professor, Medicine
  • Vincanne Adams, PhD, Professor, Medical Anthropology


Former Steering Committee Members

  • Aude Bouagnon, PhD, MD Candidate (2020-2021)
  • Carlos Martinez, MPH, PhD Candidate, Medical Anthropology (2020-2021)
  • Ian Whitmarsh, PhD, Associate Professor, Medical Anthropology (2020-2021)
  • Joey Lew, MFA, MD Candidate (2020)
  • Kara Zamora, MA, PhD Candidate, Medical Anthropology (2020-2021)
  • Nadia Gaber, PhD, MD Candidate (2020)